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2024

Top Social Media Marketing Agencies for 2024

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In 2024, social media marketing is the cornerstone of brand-audience connections. With 4.9 billion users worldwide, these platforms are the new town squares and marketplaces. Globally, over $296 billion is spent on social media advertising, highlighting its tremendous value and effectiveness in the marketing landscape. Show more

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Agencies
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Avg. Min. Compaign Size: $6.104
Avg. Hourly Rate: $98 / hr
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Based in the vibrant heart of Miami, Florida, The Influencer Marketing Factory stands out as a reliable partner for medium-sized businesses in today's digital market. Devised strategically, their mark… Read More
Industry Expertise
Consumer Products & Services
eCommerce
Education
Gaming
Hospitality
Retail
Industry Expertise
Consumer Products & Services
eCommerce
Education
Gaming
Hospitality
Retail
Miami, Florida
$9.999+
Not Revealed
10
Sociallyin
Verified
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Sociallyin is a marketing agency with a team size of over 50, primarily serving medium-size clients and offering a range of key services including Marketing Strategy, Advertising, and Digital Strategy… Read More
Services
SoMe Marketing Services
User Engagement Enhancement
Content Creation Services
Services
SoMe Marketing Services
User Engagement Enhancement
Content Creation Services
United States
$4.999+
From $100
50
Viral Nation
Verified
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The Global Leader of Social-First Transformation & Commerce Since 2014, Viral Nation has been connecting the dots between Culture, Influence and Technology to drive meaningful results for clients… Read More
Services
Online Strategy
SoMe Marketing Services
Visual Content Creation
Search Marketing Services
Marketing
Media Strategy & Acquisition
Strategic Marketing Services
Content Creation Services
Services
Online Strategy
SoMe Marketing Services
Visual Content Creation
Search Marketing Services
Marketing
Media Strategy & Acquisition
Strategic Marketing Services
Content Creation Services
United States
$49.999+
Not Revealed
50
SmartSites
Verified
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SmartSites is a leading marketing agency serving squarely medium-sized clients, boasting a comprehensive range of key services including marketing strategy, advertising, and digital strategy. Based in… Read More
Services
Website Design
PPC Campaign Services
SoMe Marketing Services
Search Marketing Services
Digital Direct Mail Campaigns
Services
Website Design
PPC Campaign Services
SoMe Marketing Services
Search Marketing Services
Digital Direct Mail Campaigns
United States
$999+
From $100
50
Verified
View Profile Visit website
Fresh Content Society is a quality-oriented marketing agency specializing in a variety of services including Marketing Strategy, Advertising, and Digital Strategy. Catering typically to medium-sized c… Read More
Services
SoMe Marketing Services
User Engagement Enhancement
Content Creation Services
Online Strategy
PPC Campaign Services
Services
SoMe Marketing Services
User Engagement Enhancement
Content Creation Services
Online Strategy
PPC Campaign Services
United States
$9.999+
From $150
10
Verified
View Profile Visit website
Disruptive Advertising, a highly proficient agency, specializes in Marketing Strategy, Advertising, and Digital Strategy. Credible and diverse, they cater to medium-scale businesses with an expertise … Read More
Services
Content Creation Services
PPC Campaign Services
Digital Direct Mail Campaigns
Search Marketing Services
SoMe Marketing Services
Services
Content Creation Services
PPC Campaign Services
Digital Direct Mail Campaigns
Search Marketing Services
SoMe Marketing Services
United States
$4.999+
From $100
50
Nuanced Media
Verified
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Based in San Diego, California, Nuanced Media is a well-established agency that specializes in delivering top-tier Digital Strategy, Pay Per Click, and Search Engine Optimization services to its mediu… Read More
Services
PPC Campaign Services
Search Marketing Services
eCommerce Production Services
Services
PPC Campaign Services
Search Marketing Services
eCommerce Production Services
San Diego, California
$999+
From $100
10
Verified
View Profile Visit website
Ignite Social Media, based in Alabama, United States, has been serving medium-sized clients with their expertise in Marketing Strategy, Advertising, and Digital Strategy. Though the company size and h… Read More
Services
Content Creation Services
SoMe Marketing Services
Services
Content Creation Services
SoMe Marketing Services
Alabama
$4.999+
Not Revealed
10
View Profile Visit website
Thrive Internet Marketing Agency is an established company known for its key expertise in Marketing Strategy, Advertising, and Digital Strategy. With a team size of more than 10 professionals, they ca… Read More
Services
Website Design
Search Marketing Services
SoMe Marketing Services
PPC Campaign Services
Brand Development Services
Services
Website Design
Search Marketing Services
SoMe Marketing Services
PPC Campaign Services
Brand Development Services
United States
$999+
From $100
10
Lyfe Marketing
Verified
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Lyfe Marketing, an established agency, specializes in delivering an integrated mix of services including Marketing Strategy, Advertising, and Digital Strategy. This agency accommodates medium-sized bu… Read More
Services
PPC Campaign Services
Search Marketing Services
SoMe Marketing Services
Services
PPC Campaign Services
Search Marketing Services
SoMe Marketing Services
United States
$999+
From $50
10
Iron Roots
Verified
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Based in Austin, Texas, Iron Roots is an exceptional digital agency known for its key services in Digital Strategy, Pay Per Click, and Search Engine Optimization. Catering to medium-sized businesses, … Read More
Services
SoMe Marketing Services
Talent Acquisition Services
Services
SoMe Marketing Services
Talent Acquisition Services
Austin, Texas
$4.999+
Not Revealed
10
Sculpt
Verified
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Positioned in the heart of Iowa City, Iowa, Sculpt is a trailblazing marketing agency delivering granular digital strategy. Equipped with a battery of efficient digital marketing tools, they offer a c… Read More
Services
SoMe Marketing Services
Services
SoMe Marketing Services
Iowa City, Iowa
$4.999+
From $150
10
Verified
View Profile Visit website
Directive Consulting is a dynamic marketing agency with its core expertise lying in creating insightful Marketing Strategies, innovative Advertising and devising comprehensive Digital Strategies. The … Read More
Services
PPC Campaign Services
Content Creation Services
Strategic Marketing Services
Visual Content Creation
Services
PPC Campaign Services
Content Creation Services
Strategic Marketing Services
Visual Content Creation
United States
$4.999+
Not Revealed
50
Verified
View Profile Visit website
NinjaPromo, headquartered in New York City, has been a leader in the field of digital marketing for medium-sized enterprises. With over 50 skilled professionals, they specialize in Digital Strategy, P… Read More
Services
Content Creation Services
SoMe Marketing Services
Online Strategy
Services
Content Creation Services
SoMe Marketing Services
Online Strategy
New York City, New York
$4.999+
From $50
50
Moburst
Verified
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Moburst is a notable agency renowned for its expertise in Marketing Strategy, Advertising, and Digital Strategy. Since its inception, the company has been tirelessly serving medium-sized businesses, h… Read More
Services
Content Creation Services
PPC Campaign Services
Digital Direct Mail Campaigns
Search Marketing Services
SoMe Marketing Services
Visual Content Creation
App Promotion Strategies
eCommerce Production Services
Enterprise Advisory Services
Brand Development Services
Services
Content Creation Services
PPC Campaign Services
Digital Direct Mail Campaigns
Search Marketing Services
SoMe Marketing Services
Visual Content Creation
App Promotion Strategies
eCommerce Production Services
Enterprise Advisory Services
Brand Development Services
United States
$4.999+
From $150
50
Online Optimism
Verified
View Profile Visit website
Located in the vibrant city of Los Angeles, California, Online Optimism is a dedicated agency offering inventive solutions in marketing strategy, advertising, and digital strategy. Established as a co… Read More
Services
Website Design
Brand Development Services
SoMe Marketing Services
Search Marketing Services
PPC Campaign Services
Industry Expertise
Automotive
Business Services
Financial Services
Hospitality
Medical
Services
Website Design
Brand Development Services
SoMe Marketing Services
Search Marketing Services
PPC Campaign Services
Industry Expertise
Automotive
Business Services
Financial Services
Hospitality
Medical
Los Angeles, California
$999+
From $50
10
Favoured
Verified
View Profile Visit website
Favoured is a marketing agency offering a comprehensive selection of services, including Marketing Strategy, Advertising, and Digital Strategy. Established by a dedicated team of more than ten profess… Read More
Services
Customer Relationship Management Advisory
Content Creation Services
PPC Campaign Services
Digital Direct Mail Campaigns
SoMe Marketing Services
Services
Customer Relationship Management Advisory
Content Creation Services
PPC Campaign Services
Digital Direct Mail Campaigns
SoMe Marketing Services
United States
$999+
From $100
10
Sway Group
Verified
View Profile Visit website
Sway Group, based in the vibrant Mill Valley, California, is a trailblazing marketing agency known for its cutting-edge services, catering mainly to medium-sized businesses. Adept at devising robust M… Read More
Mill Valley, California
$49.999+
Not Revealed
10
Vireo Video
Verified
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Vireo Video, a marketing agency with a team size of over 10 people, is known for its prowess in deploying apt marketing strategies and digital campaigns for medium-sized businesses. With a starting pr… Read More
Services
Motion Media Creation
Content Creation Services
SoMe Marketing Services
Services
Motion Media Creation
Content Creation Services
SoMe Marketing Services
United States
$4.999+
From $150
10

What Services Do Social Media Agencies Offer?

Social media agencies work with businesses in developing and executing successful marketing strategies on social media. They help them to achieve social media goals and integrate them into larger business objectives. Many digital marketing agencies offer social media marketing as a part of their services, but you can also find dedicated agencies that specifically focus on social media service offerings.

Most of the time, social media agencies will help with strategy and execution as well as analytics and reporting. Beyond these essentials, they may be able to provide several other services specific to social media marketing. These include:

Social Media Audits

Before coming up with a strategy for your business, some agencies will run a social media audit to give them a baseline. This involves evaluating your current social media strategy and social accounts to see what’s working and what’s not. They will look at your existing content, posting schedule, engagement strategy, and more to identify hidden opportunities, mistakes, and other action points.

For instance, they may notice that you’re not levering videos enough or that you’re posting inconsistently. In some cases, the audit process might reveal the need for providing additional details about your business such as your hours and your contact info.

A social media audit service can be highly effective for brands that already have an existing social media presence or strategy but aren’t seeing significant results from those efforts. On the other hand, you may not necessarily need it if you’re only just getting started with social media marketing. In this case, the agency will work with you in building your social media strategy from scratch.

To gain further insights into what makes a social media agency truly effective, we sought the expertise of Camille Kennedy, an expert marketer specializing in B2B and B2C marketing for tech startups and brands. Camille shares her perspective on the top qualities businesses should seek in a social media marketing agency:

Djanan Kasumovic
Djanan Kasumovic
Head of Growth at Influencer Marketing Hub
Camille Kennedy
Camille Kennedy
Revenue driven marketing and sales strategist
What are the top qualities or services businesses should look for in a social media marketing agency to ensure they're getting the best value and expertise for their investment?

From my standpoint, when choosing a social media marketing agency, it’s crucial for brands to prioritize agencies that demonstrate a deep understanding of their target audience. This includes their ability to craft creative and engaging content, and not just any content, but content that resonates and connects. Moreover, an agency’s proficiency in measuring and optimizing performance can’t be overlooked. From my experience, social media is dynamic and fast-paced. Therefore, partnering with an agency skilled in agile content creation — both proactive and reactive — is vital for keeping up with the ever-evolving social media landscape.

In your view, how important is the cultural fit and communication style between a business and its social media agency, and what steps can companies take to assess this fit before signing an agreement?

Cultural fit and communication style are fundamental in any business relationship, especially between a brand and its social media agency. In my experience, most agencies, being service-oriented, tend to adapt their strategies and risk-taking levels according to each client’s unique needs. I recommend implementing a comprehensive selection process to gauge an agency’s compatibility with your brand. This should involve not just the top-level executives from both sides but also the team members who will be directly working on the projects. Involving them in scenario-based discussions during the selection process can provide deeper insights into the agency’s approach and philosophy, ensuring alignment with your brand’s values and expectations.

How should businesses approach the growth and evolution of their partnership with a social media marketing agency, and what are the key indicators that a long-term relationship will drive continuous success?

For me, any successful relationship is founded on two binding principles: communication and trust. In addition to those two essential components, a relationship between a brand and its social media agency also requires continuous evolution of ideas for social media marketing campaigns and content to stay relevant and creative. At times, having the same creative team for an extended period of time can often result in lacklustre creative and cookie-cutter ideas unless both parties are committed to a healthy test-and-learn agenda with room for creative freedom. If done right, I’ve seen agencies and brands benefit from long-term relationships, as they can build trust over time, act faster because they have a mutual understanding, and measure and optimize performance with historical performance in mind. Brands can use year-over-year social growth and performance to indicate long-term success in their partnership.


Design and Content Production

Many social media agencies can help with designing and creating content for social media. This may include writing compelling social copy and creating original graphics according to the latest social media size guides. So if you’re going to need help with creating Stories and visual content, make sure to look for an agency that offers these services. The same goes for brands that are struggling to create impactful messaging for their social media marketing efforts.

Additionally, some agencies will also be able to help with video production according to the latest social media video specs. From animated videos to live-action videos to app previews, they’ll be able to take over the entire process starting from concept to production. This type of service is ideal if you’re going to need help with TikTok marketing or if you need to ramp up your social video efforts.

For example, Fresh Content Society worked with Manny’s Deli to come up with creative and relatable content aligned with different social media platforms. On Twitter, they sent out friendly and casual Tweets in a brand voice that resonated with the audience. On TikTok, they leveraged popular sounds and trends to create videos the audience could relate to. As a result, Manny’s Deli generated more than 500,000 engagements across all channels and even increased sales by 1,500% with a single Tweet.

@mannysdeli How would YOU describe Gino? #mannysdeli #chicagofood ♬ original sound - gagasfamemonster

However, brands that already have an in-house content team may not necessarily need to look for an agency that offers services for content production. In this case, directions and ideas from a social media agency may be more than enough to align your content team’s efforts with the rest of your social media strategy.


Social Media Management

One of the most popular services offered by social media marketing agencies is social media management. While content creation may be part of the package, social media management also encompasses services related to publishing and scheduling as well as community management.

Social media agencies make data-backed decisions on how to publish and schedule content for your brand’s social media account. This involves looking at optimal posting frequencies and the best times to post to get the most visibility and engagement for your brand. They’ll then use powerful social media posting and scheduling tools to strategically distribute content across your social media calendar and automatically push out your posts at optimal times for the most engagement.

Where social media agencies shine the most is when it comes to community management. Not every business has the resources or workforce needed to constantly monitor comments, mentions, and messages on social media. Let alone being able to respond promptly and engage with your community on a regular basis. That’s exactly where a social media agency can help, enabling you to stay on top of your incoming messages, comments, and brand mentions.

Most social media agencies are equipped with sophisticated social listening and monitoring tools. This enables them to keep track of every relevant comment, message, and brand mention that needs a response. They also have the expertise to provide quality support and help enhance your customer experience on social media.

In some cases, social media management may involve strategizing and launching social media contests on your behalf. This is what LYFE Marketing did for Clearon Bleach Tablets, strategically running six contests in a 3-month span. They ended up with a 430% increase in followers and a 112% increase in revenue during this period.

 LYFE Marketing / Clearon Bleach Tablets


Social Media Advertising

Another key service provided by social media marketing agencies is paid social advertising. This type of service enables brands to quickly reach their ideal customers by targeting them with relevant social ads in a highly precise manner. A social media agency will take over the entire process and help you execute an impactful social media ad campaign that delivers results.

Before executing your campaign, they’ll consider factors such as budget, goals, and target audiences to develop a customized strategy. They will then use their media buying expertise to effectively deliver the right ads to the right people and right channels at the right time.

For example, Moburst worked with Say to refine their app and target a relevant audience through multiple ad networks as well as Apple search ads. They then created a micro-segmented media campaign to help people visualize the different use cases for the app. In just three months, the app gained 60,000 new active users. Moburst was also able to reduce the cost per install by more than 60%.

Keep in mind that some agencies may provide ad services only for specific social networks such as Facebook and Instagram. It’s important to look for an agency that has the expertise and experience needed to deliver impactful ads on the platforms you want to use.


Influencer Marketing

After the massive popularity of influencer marketing, many social media marketing services pivoted to include it among their service offerings. With most influencer marketing campaigns taking place over social media, it’s become an essential aspect of social media marketing. So it only makes sense for social media marketing agencies to also handle influencer marketing. In some cases, however, the agency may specifically focus on influencer marketing without offering other types of social media services.

A social media agency can help you develop an influencer marketing campaign and handle other crucial parts of the campaign such as influencer sourcing and vetting as well as outreach. In some cases, the agency will give you access to their proprietary software so you can do your own influencer sourcing if that’s what you prefer. Some may even be able to extend their services to negotiation and contracting, helping you save tons of time.

When ExeGi Pharma needed to raise awareness about their Visbiome Vet Probiotic, The Influencer Marketing Factory took over and helped them launch a successful campaign with relevant influencers. They activated several leading social media creators including pet parents and pet influencers who created content sharing info about the product. This generated 45,000+ impressions on Instagram Stories and 75,000+ combined views on YouTube.

Most agencies that offer influencer marketing services will oversee the campaign execution and keep track of influencer performance on your behalf. Others may even be able to take over payments and shipping as well.

Keep in mind that different agencies may specialize in certain types of influencer campaigns. For instance, while others may specifically work on product seeding and UGC campaigns, others may be more familiar with brand sponsorship campaigns. So make sure to look into the types of campaigns they can run before you decide on a social media agency to work with.


What are the Types of Social Media Agencies?

As mentioned above, many digital marketing agencies will offer social media as a part of their services. Meanwhile, you may also find agencies dedicated to specific types of social media marketing. So it’s important to understand the different types of social media agencies available in the market to help you with your search.

Varieties Social Media Agencies

Full-Service Digital Marketing Agencies

As the name suggests, a full-service agency offers just that – a full range of services to help with all your social media marketing needs. This includes everything from strategy and content production to community management and advertising.

Working with this type of agency is ideal because you won’t have to look anywhere else to address certain needs such as a video production company to create TikTok videos, for example. Instead, you can count on the agency as an extension of your brand and have them handle everything related to social media.

In some cases, full-service may also refer to a full-service digital marketing agency that also offers all kinds of social media marketing services. So if you also need help with other aspects of digital marketing such as content marketing or email marketing, you’ll want to look into these agencies.


Specialty Service Marketing Agencies

Some social media agencies may offer a few types of social media services that they’re particularly good at but are unable to address every social media marketing need. For example, they may be highly equipped to handle community management but won’t have the expertise or resources to handle paid social ads.

It’s highly common to see agencies that are extremely good at influencer marketing but are unable to help with other aspects of social media marketing. Similarly, there are agencies that focus specifically on certain platforms such as TikTok or LinkedIn.

So depending on your unique needs, you may even prefer to work with these types of agencies instead of ones that offer full-service solutions. For instance, if you already have a strong social media team in-house and only need help running an influencer marketing campaign, then a specialty social media agency will be an ideal option.


Niche-Based Agencies

Additionally, you can also find social media agencies that focus on specific niches. This is highly common in markets such as B2B and ecommerce. Industries such as crypto, gaming, fintech, and blockchain may also do well from working with an agency that has expertise in their niche.

However, niche-based agencies aren’t just limited to these industries. You may be able to find agencies specializing in social media marketing for verticals such as sports, music, apps, and so on.


What are the Benefits of Hiring a Social Media Agency?

If you’re still on the fence about hiring a social media agency for your business, here are some of the key benefits to help you make a decision.

Pros of Engaging a Social Media Agency

Save Time

One of the most obvious benefits is the ability to save time. When you have a team of experts handling your social media marketing, it leaves you free to focus on other important aspects of running a business. You won’t have to “waste” precious hours checking your Instagram DMs or monitoring your Twitter mentions.

Leverage Advanced Software and Tools

Most social media agencies make use of sophisticated software and tools to provide high-quality services. When you work with them, you indirectly get to leverage these toolkits without having to spend extra on subscription plans and software purchases.

Access to Valuable Human Resources

On the same note, you can also make use of the agency’s valuable team of social media experts without having to hire a full-fledged in-house team. This gives you access to valuable human resources to take care of all your social media needs–whether it’s design or community management.

Tap into Their Expertise

Another major benefit is the ability to tap into their expertise. Social media agencies have years of experience with different aspects of social media marketing. This not only gives them the expertise but the industry knowledge to make informed decisions on how to get the best results for their clients.

Maximize Your Social ROI

As a combined result of the above, social media agencies can help you get more out of your marketing dollars. They help you optimize your strategy to maximize your social media ROI while improving cost-efficiency.


What are the Average Costs of Hiring a Social Media Agency?

There are a number of factors that influence the actual cost of working with a social media marketing agency. While your project size and scope are a key factor, you’ll also have to consider other factors such as the agency’s reputation and expertise as well as where they’re located. Typical rates for social media marketing agencies vary from city to city due to differences in market demand and operational costs.

To get a better understanding of these differences, let’s take a closer look at the average minimum campaign sizes and hourly rates for social media marketing agencies in different countries in the U.S.

  • In Boston, agencies charge an average of $95 per hour with a minimum campaign size of $1,439.
  • Social media marketing agencies in California charge $97 per hour and a minimum of $1,3221 per campaign on average.
  • New York has a higher average hourly rate of $108 per hour and a lower average minimum campaign size of $7,749.
  • In New Jersey, the average minimum campaign size is $2,849 while the average hourly rate is $79 per hour.
  • Florida sees a minimum campaign size of $2,825 on average while the average hourly rate is $80 per hour.

What are the Most Popular Social Media Agency Pricing Models?

Most social media agencies charge clients per project with customized pricing based on the specific services needed. Before you start working with the agency, you’ll receive a custom proposal tailored according to the unique sets of services you’ll be using to achieve your goals.

This type of customized per-project pricing is inclusive of agency pricing and allows you to effectively cover all your social media marketing needs with a predictable budget. However, you can also find agencies that charge an hourly rate on top of your other social media marketing costs such as advertising costs.

So, for example, if you’re spending $1,500 on social media ads and the agency charges $25/hour to manage those ads for a total of 40 hours, then you’ll be spending a total of $3,500. This is typical for social media projects that include paid advertising. It’s a bit more unpredictable since there’s no saying how much time the agency will spend on your project.

If you’re running on a limited budget, this type of unpredictability may not work best for you. Fortunately, some agencies also offer tiered pricing packages where you buy a plan to cover a specific set of services.

For example, WebFX offers three pricing tiers for social media management. The Bronze tier covers up to 10 posts and eight custom images a month for one social network. Upgrading to any of the other two plans entitles you to more posts, custom images, and networks.

webfx Social media management pricing

Source: webfx.com

For social media advertising plans, however, the pricing is a little less straightforward as agencies will normally charge you a variable fee to manage your ads based on your ad spend. According to the WebFX rate charge, for example, a Pro plan requires an initial investment of $1,975 for an ad spend range of $1,000 - $30,000. On top of this, you’ll need to pay $975 or 15% of your ad spend, whichever is higher, for ongoing monthly maintenance.

So pricing models are typically a mixture of custom project-based pricing and hourly rates as well as variable percentage-based maintenance fees for social media advertising.


How Should You Measure the Success of Your Social Media Agency Campaigns?

One key question before choosing a social media marketing company is why you should be working with an agency in the first place. What kind of benefit can an agency deliver to your social media marketing efforts? And how do you quantify those benefits?

The answer lies in your numbers. Social media agencies have the tools and expertise necessary to significantly improve your performance metrics. Here are some of the key performance indicators (KPIs) that will help you assess the effectiveness of a social media marketing agency. Keep in mind that the specific KPIs may vary depending on the goals you wish to achieve through social.

  • Impressions – A measure of the number of times your content is displayed to social media users. This is a relevant metric for measuring the effectiveness of a social media company at distributing and promoting your content to the right audience.
  • Reach – A measure of the number of people who see your social media content. This is another relevant metric to see just how effective the agency is at targeting the right audience on social media.
  • Engagements – The total number of engagements received for a particular campaign or social media content. This helps you understand how well the campaign or content resonates with the audience. It’s a great way to assess an agency’s ability to craft messaging, content, and/or creative that aligns with your goals and target audience.
  • ROAS/ROI – The profit earned in comparison to how much you spent on the ad or marketing campaign. This is one of the most important KPIs for measuring agency effectiveness as it helps you understand whether they’re making the most of your investment.
  • Clicks/CTR – If your campaign involves links, this metric will help you measure the number of clicks or click-throughs generated. This gives you an idea of whether the offer or messaging crafted by the agency was effective enough to drive action.
  • Conversion Rate – A measure of the number of social media users who took a conversion action as compared to the total number of people who saw or interacted with your ad or content. Similar to the above metric, conversion rate is another way to measure the effectiveness of an offer or messaging to drive a relevant conversion action. 
  • Referral Traffic – The total number of traffic coming to your website or landing page from social media. If your campaign involves driving traffic to your site, an increase in this performance metric proves that the agency is effectively helping you achieve your goal.
  • Leads – The total number of leads gained through your ad or social media campaign. If your campaign involves lead generation, the right social media agency should help you generate a significant number of leads. 
  • Follower Growth – The number of new followers gained after your social media campaign. With the right social media marketing company, you should be able to see an increase in these numbers even if you didn’t specifically aim to grow your following.

Leading social media agencies have the capability to significantly boost these numbers by helping you develop impactful and targeted campaigns based on your goals. On the organic front, the leading social media platforms that generate the highest ROI, based on our data, are Instagram, Facebook, and YouTube. Apart from organic ROI, agencies can also help you generate high ROI from social media ad campaigns.  Converse, for instance, saw an ROI of 1,554% from TikTok after partnering with Obviously.

TikTok Obviously

Beyond your overall ROI, social media marketing companies can nail down the specifics and improve other key performance metrics depending on your goals. For example, agencies like Thrive helped one of their clients reach more than 4.5 million people on Facebook, which led to an additional, 87,000+ visits from the platform. Meanwhile, the client managed to gain 20,000+ Instagram followers with the agency’s help.

While the average click-through rate for Facebook ads, for example, is around 0.9%, brands like StreamShift have been able to achieve an impressive CTR of 13.85% after working with Lyfe Marketing. With 65,029 link clicks in total, the brand spent only $0.002 for each click while the average CPC for social media ads is between $0.38 and $5.26 depending on the platform. 

Ad Lyfe Marketing

Although far from complete, these numbers paint a clear picture of the kinds of metrics and improvements you can expect from working with a social media marketing agency. However, keep in mind that the actual results may vary depending on factors such as your goals, target audience, platform, business size, and industry.


What Level of Communication Can You Expect From Your Agency?

Most social media agencies communicate with clients via email and video call. Some even use communication tools like Slack for quick questions and updates.

These communications are typically carried out on an as-needed basis in addition to your weekly or monthly reports detailing progress. However, some agencies may set limitations on the number of meetings and consultations that you can have over the course of your partnership with them. Some agencies may even assign an account manager to work directly with you whom you can reach any time.


How Often and in What Format Will You Receive Performance Reports?

Throughout the course of your campaign, your agency will provide you with a custom social media report highlighting the main KPIs relevant to your goals. For instance, if you’re running an ad campaign, the report may include metrics such as impressions, engagements, clicks, conversions, cost-per-impression, and cost-per-click.

Most social media agencies will provide you with routine presentations on a weekly or monthly basis to help you visualize progress. You may also get scheduled reports automatically delivered to your inbox on a weekly basis. If the agency uses software that’s accessible for clients, you may even be able to keep track of your performance report in real-time through a custom dashboard.

Frequently Asked Questions

Who is the best social media marketing agency?

Some of the best social media marketing agencies include Moburst, Viral Nation, Fresh Content Society, Sociallyin, The Influencer Marketing Factory, and NinjaPromo.

What services does a social media agency offer?

A social media agency offers services related to social media marketing, which may include social media audits, strategy and planning, content production, social media management, paid social advertising, influencer marketing, and analytics and reporting.

How much do social media marketing agencies charge hourly?

The hourly rates for social media marketing agencies vary depending on factors such as experience and location. But you can expect to spend somewhere between $80 and $150 per hour with a social media agency.

How much does a social media marketing agency cost?

The cost of a social media marketing agency varies depending on several factors including service package, experience, location, etc. But costs typically range between $900 and $20,000 per month.

How do I find a social media agency?

You can find a social media agency for your business by narrowing them down based on factors such as service offerings, niche/industry, specializations, hourly rates, and more.

How can I find a social media marketing agency that fits my budget?

You can find a social media agency that fits your budget by shopping around and looking into their hourly rates and minimum project price.

Which are the best low-cost social media agencies?

Agencies like NinjaPromo, Thrive Internet Marketing Agency, and Sculpt are some of the best budget-friendly social media agencies.

What are the best social media marketing agencies for small businesses?

Joseph Studios, New Jupiter Media, BrandLyft, and Savage Global Marketing are some of the best social media marketing agencies for small businesses.

About the Author and Expert Reviewer
The Influencer Marketing Hub Team brings together a diverse group of experts with a passion for influencer marketing, digital trends, and social media strategies. Each piece of content crafted by this team is researched and written to provide valuable insights, tips, and updates for our readers. Our authors are dedicated to delivering high-quality, informative, and engaging articles that help businesses and influencers thrive in this rapidly changing digital world.
Camille Kennedy
Expert Reviewer
Camille Kennedy is a marketing strategist with a wealth of experience in B2B and B2C marketing for tech startups and established brands. Her expertise lies in crafting revenue-driven strategies that effectively bridge the gap between marketing and sales, making her a trusted voice in evaluating and optimizing digital marketing efforts.